MTNA Performance Competitions South Carolina Music Teachers Association Annual Conference

November 2-5, 2016 Converse College partanburg, South Carolina

Spartanburg, South Carolina
SCMTA Competition Chair: Dr. Amanda Montgomery

DIVISION	STUDENT(S)	INSTRUMENT	TEACHER	ACCOMPANIST
CHAMBER				
Chamber Music Wind				
Winner	Axios Quartet		Tracy Patterson	
	Noah Bruening	Soprano Saxophone		
	Colton Nelson	Alto Saxophone		
	Lukas Ferrell	Tenor Saxophone		
	Joseph Booth	Baritone Saxophone		
Alternate	Quintet Azure		Deborah Loomer	
	Kathryn Kesler	Fllute		
	Haley Willis	Oboe		
	Tyler Roth	Clarinet		
	Joseph Kindig	Horn		
	Ashley Blackwood	Bassoon		
JUNIOR				
Junior Performance	Piano			
Winner	Caleb Borick	Piano	Joseph Rackers	
Alternate	Lauren Chen	Piano	Joseph Rackers	
Honorable Mention	John Wang	Piano	Kuo-Pei Cheng-Lin	
Junior Performance	String			
Representative	Joseph Tam	Violin	Jennifer John	
Junior Performance	Woodwind			
Winner	Blair Carrier	Flute	Amanda Barrett	Julie Carrier
Alternate	Victor Zhao	Oboe	Mary Purtle	Julie Carrier
SENIOR				
Senior Composition				
Winner	Jenny Yao		Edward Hart	
Honorable mention	Catherine Black		Ann Wilson	
Senior Performance	Brass			
Winner	Miriam Snyder	Trombone	David Hamilton	Kristen Ironside
Alternate	William Pickus	Trombone	David Hamilton	Kristen Ironside
Honorable Mention	Matthew Ledbetter	Trombone	David Hamilton	Walter Hundt

Winner	Jenny Yao	Piano	Paul Sanchez
Alternate	Annabelle Yang	Piano	Won Jung Kiser
Honorable Mention	Sydney Porth	Piano	Stephen Taylor
	Catherine Black	Piano	Ann Wilson
	Simeon Radev	Piano	Alan Weinberg

Senior Piano Duet

Winner Jiaying Tong Piano Sherry Parrini Jieying Tong Piano

Senior Performance String

Winner Samuel Parrini Jennifer John Fabio Parrini Violin Hagen Bell Cello Robert O'Brien Alternate Honorable Mention Brian Shoop Viola Kathryn Dey Kristen Ironside Benjamin Kremer Sarah Johnson Gerald Garrett Violin

Senior Performance Woodwind

Winner Cullen Broome Clarinet Kyra Zhang Kristen Ironside Alternate Benjamin Eidson Saxophone Clifford Leaman Claudio Olivera Honorable Mention Roman Holder Saxophone Kyra Zhang Kristen Ironside Noah Broam Bassoon Kyra Zhang Kirsten Ironside Oboe Kyra Zhang Kristen Ironside Jessica Key **Thomas Drummond** Clifford Leaman Saxophone Alan Rudell

YOUNG ARTIST

Young Artist Perfo	rmance Brass		
Representative	Jonathan Holland Jr.	Euphonium	Paul Overly

Young Artist Performance Piano

Winner Piano Marina Lomazov Almond Ponge Joseph Rackers Alternate James Flowe Piano Honorable mention Charles Baldwin Piano **Derek Parsons** Caroline Owen Piano Derek Parsons Zehao Bai Piano Marina Lomazov

Young Artist Performance Voice

Representative McKenzie Anderson Voice-Soprano David Templeton Robin Zemp

Young Artist Performance Woodwind

WinnerJake MannClarinetJoseph EllerLuke FangAlternateDillon SmithSaxophoneClifford LeamanHonorable mentionTery BurtSaxophoneBarry McGinnisWanda Neese