SOUTH CAROLINA MUSIC TEACHERS ASSOCIATION 2025 SCMTA Composition Competition Results

Adjudicators: Jason Sifford (Young Artist & Senior), Mona Rejino (Junior & Elementary)

Young Artist Division

Solo	Student	Piece	Teacher
Winner	Othniel Gort	Toccata	Tom Hicks
Runner-Up	Leyton Hewitt	Sonatina	Megan Rich

EnsembleStudentPieceTeacherWinnerGrant CamfieldRememberDeanna MooreRunner-UpLeyton HewittEchoesMegan Rich

Senior Division

Solo	Student	Piece	Teacher
Winner	Paul Cochrane	Dreaming of a Dance	Scott Price
Winner	Brandon Zaryczny	Anemoia	Lori McClellan
Runner-Up	Daniel Stroman	Overwhelming Odds	Dan McCurry
Honorable Mention	Rachel Lane	Triumph	Dan McCurry

Ensemble	Student	Piece	Teacher
Winner	Rachel Lane	Black Lemon	Dan McCurry
Winner	Daniel Stroman	Romance	Dan McCurry
Runner-Up	Rachel Lane	Birth of My Love	Dan McCurry
Honorable Mention	Ahna Simmons	Prelude	Amanda Montgomery

Junior Division

Solo	Student	Piece	Teacher
Winner	Alex Jiang	Dreams to the East	Carol Comune
Winner	Oliver Berg	The Seven Seas	Dan McCurry
Winner	Henry Milliken	The Candlelit Castle	Dan McCurry
Honorable Mention	John Swinton Bailey	Sally's Barking Blues	Dan McCurry
Honorable Mention	Ellie Connors	Traveling Circus	Dan McCurry
Honorable Mention	Preston Saylors	Bacon, Egg, & Cheese	Dan McCurry
Ensemble	Student	Piece	Teacher
Winner	Calum De Sa	Eye of the Storm	Dan McCurry
Winner	Kendall King	Swing On By	Dan McCurry

Elementary Division

Winner

Honorable Mention

Solo	Student	Piece	Teacher
Winner	Manning Rosen	The Mystery in the Woods	Inga Agrest
Winner	Charlotte Deupree	Night Waves	Dan McCurry
Winner	Grace Richter	Grumpy Old Man	Dan McCurry
Winner	Arya Ameer	Thunderstorm	Dan McCurry
Runner-Up	Ophelia Amerson	Unicorn Dust	Inga Agrest
Runner-Up	Lila Milliken	Float	Dan McCurry
Runner-Up	Eleanor Gilliespie	The Cave	Dan McCurry
Honorable Mention	Nella Hambright	Something's Creeping Up	Dan McCurry
Ensemble	Student	Piece	Teacher
Winner	Rivers Grayson	The Predators are Coming!	Inga Agrest

Ants in My Pants

Monsters on the Prowl

Dan McCurry

Inga Agrest

Grace Richter

Evelyn Grace Horschel